A Conversation With My Dad

or: Where I Got My Tendency Toward Distraction

*     *     *

Dad: My allergies are awful today.

C: Have you tried the neti pot?

Dad: The what?

C: The neti pot!

Dad: What is that?

C: It’s spelled N-E-T-I. Have you heard of it?

Dad: Oh yeah, I’ve heard of that. What do you do with it, burn incense?

C: (laughing) No, you fill it with saline water and then pour the water through your nostrils.

Dad: Waterboarding.

C: What?

Dad: If you lie down when you do it, it’s called waterboarding.

Leave a Reply

